Desert Journeys – 3/3/17

Desert Journeys 3

March 3rd 2017

desert-stream

It’s funny how words can conjure up so many, often conflicting, images and emotions. For me the desert brings to mind camel trains crossing the sand dunes, Tuareg camp fires burning in the dark of night, and Indiana Jones type escapades in search of lost treasure. And yet there is also a sense of intense heat and raging thirst, and a feeling of insignificance in the midst of such a vast, arid landscape.

When I consider the desert in terms of my faith, these same thoughts often apply. Sometimes it feels like an adventure of discovery, with the possibility of some great pearl of wisdom waiting to be found. At other times it feels more like a long, hard slog, draining my energy and leaving me feeling unsatisfied and thirsty for more. It can be unsettling and isolating to be in the desert, but it also challenges me to consider things more deeply and hopefully grow stronger at the same time. 

And I know that, even as I wander around aimlessly, getting lost and feeling exhausted, there is always the hope of discovering new and unexpected places, and the anticipation of eventually arriving at the longed for desert oasis, where all my needs will be met and my faith refreshed in streams of living water.

 

The wilderness and the dry land shall be glad,

   the desert shall rejoice and blossom;

like the crocus it shall blossom abundantly,

   and rejoice with joy and singing.

 Isaiah 35.1-2

Angie Poppitt

Operations Manager, All Hallows By The Tower

Leave a Reply

